Tags

, , , ,

Sometimes, you see a moment in politics that utterly knocks down the other side.

Joseph Welch made Joseph McCarthy look like an immoral monster (which he was) with “Have you no sense of decency, sir? At long last, have you left no sense of decency?”

Ronald Reagan made Jimmy Carter look like a reckless slinger of unfair accusations with a simple “There you go again, Mr. President.”

Franklin Roosevelt made Republicans look foolish for saying that he sent a Navy destroyer to get his dog: “These Republican leaders have not been content with attacks on me, or my wife, or on my sons. . . . They now include my little dog, Fala. Well, of course, I don’t resent attacks, and my family don’t resent attacks, but Fala does resent them.”

I wonder what someone will say that knocks the wind out of Donald Trump.

