Tags

, , , , , , ,

I said recently that I’ve posted two items that I had written for my book What If I’m an Atheist? but had to delete from it in cutting the book to the proper word count. In the spirit of “Well, why not?”, here is an excerpt that did get into the book and that I think deserves a blog posting.

angelina-jolie-2

Angelina Jolie

When The Onion asked Jolie if there’s a god, she answered, “For the people who believe in it, I hope so. There doesn’t need to be a God for me.” The longtime man in her life, Brad Pitt, is an unbeliever as well. In 2009, he told the German magazine Bild, “I’m probably 20 percent atheist and 80 percent agnostic.”

punk_cm

CM Punk

This World Wrestling Entertainment star is not just atheistic but combative about it. When a journalist told him “Stop being a dogmatic atheist. It’s overdone and annoying,” the wrestler answered, “Stop believing in a man in the sky. It’s illogical.”

9f2e7a7e087d687c93647121ddb92547

Daniel Radcliffe

The guy you love as Harry Potter is an unbeliever. “I’m an atheist, but I’m very relaxed about it,” he’s said. “I don’t preach my atheism, but I have a huge amount of respect for people like [atheist author] Richard Dawkins who do.” What’s more, he’s called himself “a militant atheist when religion starts impacting on legislation.”

5794-george-clooney

George Clooney

“I don’t believe in heaven and hell,” Clooney’s said. “I don’t know if I believe in God.” He doesn’t object to religion, though. In an interview on CNN, he’s said, “Whatever anybody believes, as long as it doesn’t hurt anyone else, it’s fair enough and works. And I think it’s real and matters. I don’t happen to have those beliefs as much. I don’t believe in those things.”

platonzuck

Mark Zuckerberg

Facebook’s founder was born Jewish, but the young billionaire has listed himself as an atheist on his Facebook page. He doesn’t talk much about his beliefs (or lack thereof), though.

tyler-1_0

Tyler, the Creator

“I hate religion, to me it keeps people in a box and won’t allow them to do what the fuck they want,” the Odd Future rapper has written. When a fan challenged him about loving Jesus, he answered, “[Jesus] is not real. Why the fuck would I love someone that I haven’t met?”

zac-efron

Zac Efron

The Neighbors and Baywatch star has said, “I was raised agnostic, so we never practiced religion.”And he’s stayed that way. Although his ancestry is Jewish, he told the Jewish newspaper Forward that he remains agnostic.

 

