Tags

, , , , ,

It should be easier to remove presidents. The more power a job has, the more careful the jobholder should be when using the power. If he abuses it, toss him.

If you think I’m talking only about Donald Trump, you’re wrong. I voted for Bill Clinton. If Congress had removed him and elevated Al Gore, I would have been upset; but the advantage of being the president might have helped Gore defeat George W. Bush decisively in 2000. We probably wouldn’t have entered the stupid, ugly, unnecessary war in Iraq. I’d like that.

Andrew Jackson gave his cronies big federal jobs, defied the Supreme Court (when it ruled against stealing Cherokee land), and committed other abuses. Would the country have been worse off if Congress had removed him?

I understand the argument that removing Trump would have contradicted the will of the people, who elected him. But the people also elected Congress to check, balance, and oversee the president and remove him if necessary.

I’m not saying that we should remove presidents on a quick whim. But if removing presidents were easier than it is now, they might hesitate to invite removal by abusing their power.